Testimonials

We did the Auschwitz/Salt mines combined tour. Our driver Lukasz was on time, helpful and friendly. He picked up us by foot as we were staying in a pedestrianised area, and walked us to the mini-bus. Journey was fine, he explained everything which was going to happen, timings etc. There was plenty of time for a coffee to warm up before we went through security at Auschwitz, which is like airport - all metal taken off etc. Only very small bags allowed - but we left ours on the bus so no problem there. Auschwitz tour is run by the museum itself, not Auschwitz-tours.com, so I can't comment on that, except to say that our guide was knowledgeable, but a bit quietly spoken, so not easy to follow, even with the headphones, which worked well. Everyone has a different reaction on the tour, it's a personal thing, but I'm glad I went as it is important the message is not forgotten. We visited a couple of blocks which had different things in them, showing what happened to the prisoners at various times, all very harrowing. You don't get to go into every building on the tour - there just isn't time, the place is very big. It is also quite busy, but that's how it should be really. After the tour of Auschwitz 1, we had a short break outside the site, and ate our cheese sandwich. We then drove in our minibus to the Auschwitz-Birkenau site and met up again with our museum guide. This second site is vast, showing the scale of what took place. The entrance building and train lines are quite sinister. We walked to the end to the destroyed gas chambers, then back again, into a block used to house women prisoners before they were killed. Again, you'll get your own experience, it's quite a private thing in my mind. I would have liked to have stayed a lot longer here to look around the whole site, but I understand the time restraints. There are no headsets here, and as our guide was quite quiet, many people could not hear her, and some people gave up and wandered off a little, which is a shame. I was able to ask her some individual questions as we walked, she knew a lot about it all. Once we left the site and met up again at the minibus, we drove to the salt mines. Everyone was exhausted and fell asleep for the journey. At the mines, Lukasz took us into the restaurant where 2 tables had been reserved for our group (it's voluntary, up to you if you want to eat/drink). We had a coffee, guys with us had soup, said it was nice. Then at the set time Lukasz took us to the main entrance, gave us our tickets and sent us in with our guide. You get a single ear bud to listen to your guide. There are a lot of stairs down - it went on and on - but we got to stage 1 eventually. Walked the route through the mine with the guide - really interesting and amazing caverns etc. Ended up at the toilets, cafe and shop at the bottom - there's always a gift shop! Then there was a short break, some weird queuing system to get into the lift, then back to the surface. The lift is quite small - fits only 8 people on 4 different levels. It's no worse than a lift in the London Underground during rush hour, and only lasts 45 seconds. I thought it was going to be much worse given other comments I'd read, but it was fine. Then back to the bus, into Krakow traffic, and back to our apartment. Overall the tour was well run and everything worked out well. There is one improvement I would suggest - I've spoken to friends who have been on other tours and they got to watch a DVD on the journey out to Auschwitz, which helped set the scene and explain what happened before they arrived. Although I know the history reasonably well, I would have liked to watch this to get my mind into the right place when we arrived. Otherwise it just feels like you're waiting to get into a tourist attraction, which just feels a bit wrong. Also - one cheese sandwich was fine for me, but it wont fill up most people - bring more food if you're hungry, but remember you can't eat on the bus. Thanks for the tour - I enjoyed it (as much as you can enjoy visiting a site of horrific human genocide)...
Hazel
2019-03-27
 
We pre-booked our airport transfers, Auschwitz Tour and Salt mine Tour with Auschwitz Tours. The booking process was very easy via email, the airport transfers were prompt and on the day of our tours the transport arrived on time. All of the drivers were very polite and advised what would be happening during our tours. I would not hesitate to recommend Auschwitz Tours and we will certainly be using them again when we return.
beccy
2019-03-20
 
Used your airport transfer service and tour to Auschwitz. Excellent pickup service spot on time,tour was very good and again collected on time vehicles spotlessly clean comfortable and drivers professional and helpful. Would definitely use your services again and recommend to any friends travelling to Krakow.
kayste
2019-03-19
 
Everything went according to plan. All pick ups were punctual and all the drivers very nice. We had. arranged airport transfers and trips to Auschwitz and the Salt mines. I would definitely recommend this company and will be using them again when we go back to Kraków. Thank you very much!
Kate
2019-03-04
 
We booked airport transfers and the Auschwitz tour, service was excellent, friendly drivers, picked up exactly on time and very reasonably priced, nothing negative to say at all, would definitely use again and recommend to others!!
Caz
2019-02-16
 
Absolutely fantastic service from the company. Both drivers we dealt with were friendly, polite and courteous. Many thanks Auschwitz Tours for making our stay in Krakow an enjoyable one
amy
2019-02-03
 
This is the second trip to Krakow and I used Auschwitz Tours during both trips. Found them to be Reliable, Punctual, the vehicles were clean & comfortable and the drivers friendly
anne
2019-02-01
 
The driver arrived at the place and time expected. The drive to Auschwitz was comfortable and we had time for coffee before the tour started. The tour guide was excellent. We were returned to Krakow in good time. I would have liked a bit more time to visit the bookshops either at lunch time or after the tour. The cheese and tomato roll provided for lunch met the description in the package, but it would have been nice to have a bit of choice.
AK
2019-01-30
 
Very well organised trip with comfortable travel and a friendly driver. The day was, of course, harrowing and emotionally charged, and our guide did an excellent job, conveying the horrors of Auschwitz whilst encouraging us to do all we can to ensure something so horrific can never happen again. Everybody should experience this trip.
John
2019-01-12
 
Arranged a tour via Auschwitz Tours after being advised by another operator that there was no availability for this day. As confirmed we were picked up at 8:30 am and arrived at Auschwitz with approx. 15 mins break before beginning the tour with complex rep. The tour was very informative with no time wasted ( would be difficult to know were to start without the assistance of the rep). Following the tour of Auschwitz there was another 15 min break with basic refreshments provided before being driven a very short distance to Birkenau for the second part of the tour with the same rep - again very informative with no time wasted. We were then driven back to Krakow by our very polite careful driver. Very satisfied with this tour 5 Stars!!!!
Dwyer
2019-01-05
 
Vehicle was a little late due to a flat tyre but we did receive a text to let us know. Driver was very polite and her driving was very good. There were some queues at Auschwitz, even in December, but it did not take too long to go through security. Our tour group was bigger than expected but the guide did an excellent job. Sandwich and water supplied was a nice touch. A very sobering tour but well worth a visit.
Richard
2018-12-19
 
Arthur our driver arrived on time and was a very polite and pleasant young man.Our tour guide was very informative and gave a very sympathetic commentary.We would definitely recommend Auschwitz Tours and we thank you for the day.
Paj
2018-12-16
 
This tour is definitely worth the money. The tour guides were very knowledgeable at both Auschwitz/Birkenau and the salt mines. The salt mine guide was also hilarious! There is a lot of walking so wear comfortable and sturdy shoes. It was also lovely to be on such a small bus between locations, got to make some friends before joining the larger tour. 100% recommend.
elaine
2018-12-12
 
The Auschwitz tour ran very smoothly from start to finish. The Auschwitz guide covered all the subject matter with both clarity and passion. An experience I’ll never forget. The salt mine was also very interesting but obviously the Auschwitz tour will be in my mind forever
alex
2018-12-04
 
Thoroughly enjoyed our tours, glad I booked with this company! Communication through out from reading the details of the tours on the website to booking, was a breeze even when our tours had to be rearranged for different dates, the communication from the company was apologetic yet instantly provided a solution, even though it didn’t impact our trip at all. We chose the Schindler’s list tour, a 3 hour tour which was a lovely guided walk, visiting the sights of krakow. being my partners favourite film he instantly recognised parts used in the film before we were even told. It was more of an intimate tour which we liked because it was myself and my partner and our guide. The factory tour at the end of this is also great! Would definitely recommend it if you enjoy the history of the war. The second tour we did was the Auschwitz-Birkenau tour which too was great. We got picked up from our hotel and firstly taken to auschwitz I which in itself feels so surreal as you are walking round and imagining the full impact of what actually happened there. We then had a 20 minute rest break where they provided a sandwich and a bottle of water which we thought was great and was definitely all we needed to get us through the rest of the day. We then went on to auschwitz II. This tour was not as long as the first but again the history and the magnitude of this place was so poignant. We were then brought back to our hotel after the tour was finished. Both guides that we had were so knowledgeable and we learnt so much from them. Both tours have enabled us to cross off important things on our bucket list and we would not hestitate in coming back to poland and using auschwitz-tours again.
michelle
2018-11-16
 
This tour was so good. Our tour guide was very informative. Aushwitz is shocking and horrifying. The salt mines were extraordinary. I’d recommend this tour. My only complaint is that we had over an hour to wait between Birkeneau and the salt mine. We were starving and if they dropped us off somewhere with food that would’ve been great. Regardless, this was great!
Samantha
2018-11-04
 
The organisation was good. Pick up from our apartment to Auschwitz. Our guide at Auschwitz was really good. She told everything very intereseting and personal. A big compliment for her. First Auschwitz and then with the van to Birkenau. I can recommend this trip!
Inge
2018-10-30
 
Excellent reliable service provided by courteous careful drivers all of whom spoke perfect English. I would highly recommend Auschwitz Tours to anyone staying in or around the Krakow area.
nlcole
2018-10-29
 
We had a memorable visit to Krakow and something that will stay with us for years to come, especially the tour of Auschwitz/Birkenau. The guides were exceptional and can not be praised enough, Well organised and highly recommended. Will be back again to see more of this beautiful city. Thank you
Lincoln
2018-10-23
 
From the pick-up and return from our apartment the tour was well organised. Transport was an extremely clean mini bus and a polite driver. On arrival at Auschwitz he showed us to a meeting point giving us 30 mins to get a snack etc returning to the pre arranged spot he was there waiting to take us into the camp where we were handed over to the tour guide whom I can only describe as passionate about what he was doing. Very informative and kept you interested and involved throughout the tour. The quick drive to Birkenau was good again, Meeting up with the same guide was great as I new it would be a great second tour again his passion shone through and made the tour interesting. I would definitely recommend booking this tour company and would use them again if I return
sharon
2018-10-19
 
Google Rating
4.5

Based on 309 reviews

Auschwitz-Tours.com
Google My Business profile